Sony Handycam HDR-CX210 Review

Sony HDR-CX210

The web video equivalent of training wheels.

I bought a Sony Handycam a few months ago when I decided I wanted to learn to make and edit videos. I know what you’re thinking. Is she serious? It’s not a pro tool and isn’t even Sony’s most recent release. What is she thinking of shooting? Home videos?

You might have a point there. After all, if I want to learn to become a pro, shouldn’t I start learning to use pro equipment? The thing is, there is also something to be said about the inadvisability of  investing on expensive tools when you don’t even know where a camera’s on switch is or you’ve never tried editing and uploading to YouTube. My point is, before I spend like a pro, I’ve got to make sure I know the basics first. This video camera is my starter wheels.

Like they say, you get what you pay for. The Sony Handycam HDR-CX210 is just a little over $700 and is relatively cheap compared to higher level cameras. As expected, the clips you can make out of it are nothing spectacular but they’re good enough for the price. It’s good enough for beginners because:

  • it’s lightweight
  • records at full HD 1080p but can optionally be set to standard
  • with its Exmor CMOS sensor technology it can shoot good videos at low light
  • has extended zoom
  • has steady shot option to reduce video shaking
  • depending on your merchant, it comes with a free battery pack, cables and 16 gigs additional memory

For a budget camera, my only beef with it is perhaps the same complaint I’d probably have for every other video camera. You just don’t have everything you need in one box. If I have to shoot long videos at full HD I’d run out of power real quick. That means I have to buy and keep a spare. Aside from an additional battery unit, I also need to invest on an external mic for close shot interviews, a tripod, a camera bag, an LCD protector and more. Knowing Sony, it’s a given that these don’t come at a cheap price.

This short review is a product with my limited experience with the Sony HDR-CX210. I might have to post a new review or an update soon with more information about this unit.

Leave a Reply

